Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

New Mexico archery bull tag unit 17.

Bitter24

Hey guys and gals, first off cant believe I didnt know about this forum before. Im on a bunch of other ones for years and never came across this one. Awesome site so far, and wealth of knowledge. Im from AZ but apply in almost all the western states for elk.

Finally drew a non res archery bull tag in unit 17, Im stoked. Never hunted NM before, so should be a blast. Any of you guys ever hunted this unit before? Been scouring over maps and reading and info I can find. Though curious on general things like road conditions, hunting pressure, bulging, weather and such. My hunt is Sept 1-14th, planning to get over there for 8-10 days to scout and learn the area best I can in a short time.

I know Im a newbie here, and still cant believe I never knew about this forum before. If any of you guys draw in AZ I can help out with questions if its a unit I know personally. Good luck to everyone who drew a tag, and looking forward to Sept.

-Bitter

Welcome. Never hunted New Mexico but hope to some day. If you do some history searches on here you will find a couple conversations about that unit. Hope all goes great on the hunt. Don't forget to post the story and pics afterwards.

Publichunter1, thanks! Thats actually how I found this forum by google searching and found some threads about this unit here. So I signed up. I will for sure let you all know how it goes. Also plan I making some post about my AZ Coues deer, Mule deer, and elk as well to get a convo going with memebers in general. Thanks for the post!

Sounds great. Look forward to reading the stories. This past year was my first for anything out west and am already in love.

Hi bitter,