Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Sleeping bags

Bambistew

Anyone have an opinion on a North Face Cats Meow 20 degree bag?

I'm thinking I 'need' one. Should I be talked out of it? Any other recomendations? I have a 0degree bag, but its kind of heavy. I'm looking for something in the $150 range thats in the 15-25 degree range.

What about Kelty Light Year bags? They any good?

I just spent a miserable night in Alaska tucked safely into a Light Year sleeping bag. Honestly, I do not know if it could have been below 40 degrees and I froze my ass off. Luckily my brother had his Light Year as well in addition to his new Never Summer, so I double bagged it all week and was ok. Yes, you heard it here first....................I am a double bagger!!!!!!! He looked pretty warm and cozy in his new bag.

I have slept in it in the middle of summer and froze to death, Antelope near Craig Colorado in August. It may be the fact that I got the smaller size and is is stretched out and not lofty around me, but I am not impressed right now.

Make someone a good deal on it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks guys...

I thought I'd be 'tough' and save my money so I ended up just lugging the 'heavy' bag along for the trip. I know for a fact that next time I'll be getting a lighter bag. :D 5.5-6 pounds is to much bag for early season hunts. Thats the down side to the Wiggly's too, not to mention the $350-400 price tag.

Bambistew it looks like we are neighbors. I am living in MD at the moment. On the wiggy's I only paid $160.00 for mine through Cabela's.

really... I'll have to check them out. Are they light weight ones or the 'truck' model?

Where in MD are you? In in Balto city...

cat's meow isn't a good fall/winter bag--I have one and it's relegated to the kid's using if for sleepovers---I have the wiggy's ulitmate thule and it's awesome--heavier than I'd like but I've never been cold in that bag, so I'll put up with the weight---chris