Should 17 year old apply for big three?

Csimonds

Hello people of hunt talk, I am a 17 year old NJ resident who has just gotten into western hunting after a few years of whitetail hunting in New Jersey. I’ve decided that in my lifetime, I would love the opportunity to hunt some kind of sheep, preferably dall or Rocky Mountain, and a moose, preferably in Maine (a mountain goat would be cool also but not a top priority). After doing some research on how to apply, as I’m very new to the application system because there’s nothing I really apply for in NJ. I had a few questions that maybe someone could help me out with
1. Is it best to start applying now as an 17 year old and wait for like 30 years? Or should I just save up?
2. If it is the right move to apply, where? I’m not married to Maine for moose to example, I’d rather apply wherever is best
3. If I shouldn’t apply, should I just start saving up now?

I also am wondering about the same questions for caribou and Roosevelt elk, but I can bring those questions to other forums.
Thanks!

1. Is it best to start applying now as an 17 year old and wait for like 30 years? Or should I just save up?
2. If it is the right move to apply, where? I’m not married to Maine for moose to example, I’d rather apply wherever is best
1) statistically you're at a major disadvantage not living in the state or province you want to hunt but starting now is better than in 2 years. Start saving because you may save enough to hunt with a guide before your odds of drawing a DIY. I'd probably suggest dipping your toes into something a bit easier while applying...you may find that logistics, costs, etc exceed your ability or desire to hunt especially if you don't have connections in the states you want to hunt. Yes there are examples in some threads on this forum of people shitting the bed (shanking the tent) when it comes to tough hunts.