Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Our 81st wolf

H

hnt4life

Found this big male in a very close/local whitetail hunting spot. He was chasing whitetail within shooting distance of a very popular local recreation spot, and within less than 1/4 mile of houses. He only took 10 minutes to drag to the truck after getting him out of the nasty draw he died in after the shot. There are more tracks in the area, and I won't be surprised if people start losing pets and livestock in the area. A lot of people will still deny the fact that wolves are our new coyotes, but I know now how close they are living and hunting to our towns. Like my title says, he is the 81st reported wolf in the state, and the first from my "management" area. I'm going to buy another tag, and hit the same area with a fawn in distress call. These wolves are following/chasing elk into areas I have never seen before. I have been hunting this area for 17 years and this is the first year I have ever seen elk there. I got a good weight on him, but thought I would let you folks take a guess. I am a pretty powerful dude, but no, he is not 275 lbs.;)

I encourage everyone who loves big game hunting to not stop now. Wolf season runs till march 15th. The future of our elk and deer herds is far more important than a football game, and you will feel much better hunting the second foremost apex predator than watching "your" team lose another game.

Welcome to the site and very nice first post. By 81st, I'm guessing you mean the 81st reported kill this season? I know nothing about wolves, but I'll go with 88lbs. What kind of taxidermy are you planning, rug or full body mount? Great looking trophy, congrats!