Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

My First Coues Deer

SCliving Outdoors

A Coues deer has been on my list for a while. They seemed like such cool little deer that lived in unique country. I’ve been applying for Coues in NM with my first 2 choices for a few years now, but I’ve been unsuccessful. While applying in NM I was building points in AZ with the plan of burning them on a Coues hunt. I did my research and picked a unit. I work a some really long days in the 2 weeks leading up to Christmas so I applied for an early December tag in hopes of maybe getting some early pre-rut activity and not to interfere with my busier time at work.

My buddy, Greg lives outside of Phoenix. We hunt together a lot so he agreed to come hunt with me. Neither of us had ever been to the unit. I found a great deal on a flight that would save me a ton of money over driving to AZ and I made my plan. My flight landed at 11pm on Wednesday night. The season opened on Friday. Greg picked me up at the airport that night and we headed back to his place with plans to head out the next morning. Thursday morning we organized our gear and headed towards the boarder.

We arrived in the unit without incident. The road was rough in places, but not unpassable if we went slow. After a little searching we found a good looking spot to camp and set up everything. Around 2pm we left camp to head out and glass for the evening. We didn’t see anything. That was a little disappointing, but overall not a big deal. I jokingly said I’d much rather not see deer scouting before the season opened then during the season.

The hunt would definitely improved…
IMG_9302.jpeg
IMG_9304.jpeg

Last edited: