PEAX Equipment

what to get new western hunter

westernhunter98

I am new to western hunting and I am wondering what is the most important things to buy? also I am wondering is it worth it to buy hunting clothing like Sitka because it is my first year and I am still growing ?

I would say #1 a decent pair of binoculars (think $300ish minimum) and #2 a good pair of boots. Next up for me would be a decent pack.

I would say wait on the Sitka clothes. Keep a eye on camofire.com and classified adds on here and other hunting forums for deals on new and used gear that fits and won't break the bank. Important things are boots and a backpack that fits properly.

I would also start to study all the western state draws. Learn them like the back of your hand. Get all the Bonus/preference points you can afford at a young age. You will not regret it later.

P.S. You can buy preference points for Wyoming starting in July. I would recommend getting points for all the species you can afford. Good luck.