Caribou Gear

Western TN Turkey Novice

Vizycs

Hello! I’m originally from western MT and now live in Memphis, TN. I tried my hand at turkey hunting the last two days of the WMA season this year.
Sadly, I didn’t get any early morning gobbles or really any signs to point me in a good direction. Of course, being out in the turkey woods is enough reward, but it would be nice to hear a turkey!
I wondered if anyone has hunted the Wolf River WMA with success.
Mind you, I’m a complete novice and out here hunting solo. I welcome any friendly advice!

I would hunt the Mark Twain NF in southern Missouri and the Holly Springs NF in north Mississippi if I lived in Memphis. Also look at Land Between the Lakes.

LBL.is a bit of a drive but you'll also see elk and Bison up there. Turkey hunting is like elk hunting back home, so be prepared for a lot of people. I'd say find a hunting club you can get into down there and get a mentor. Or even pay for a guided hunt, shouldn't be more than $300. Also, drive roads in the morning and look at the fields and see if you see birds. Then knock on doors. OnX is your friend. Also, as the other post said, you could jump over in the MS or AR. Get some more hutning in.

I spent three years west of Nashville.

What do you mean by early morning gobbles? I ask because I’ve often run in to birds that will gobble on the roost and maybe once after fly down and that’s it. So if you’re out there a few minutes before sunrise, you might be too late.

There's about a half hour window early in the morning- maybe 40 minutes to 10 minutes before sunrise - when you can get most birds to gobble - even pressured public land birds. Learn how to make some good, quick, hard cuts and if they don’t gobble at that, they’re likely not around. Move a half mile and try again.

I’ll take my son to parks around town this time of year and practice calling. Find some birds in a suburban park and practice and have some fun. You’ll learn fast.