Wanting to switch to wood stove... Need advice

indiana50

I have decided I am ready to get a portable wood stove for my hunt camp set up and do away with the portable heater and propane stove for most trips.

I have zero experience using wood stove but am aware that without some basic knowledge, they can be dangerous and not work properly, so anything folks can share will be useful.

The tent I use is a Cabela's Instinct Outfitters Tent 12x16, which has a floor cut out for the stove placement and a 5 inch stock jack in the roof. In choosing which specific stove, weight is not a huge issue as the only time I use this tent is when the truck is close by but I would prefer that it is reasonable portable and manageable.

I have been looking at this stove below. I realize that it may not be the best quality but I REALLY like the price. If I found that I liked using stoves then I would be willing to upgrade down the road and use this one in the shed or pass onto a friend. But if any of you with experience feel that this stove would not work well in my circumstance then I would be open to other ideas.

https://www.sportsmansguide.com/pro...MIwKK9meed1wIVj4NpCh3BRglHEAQYBCABEgK9BPD_BwE

Thanks for any input

You can buy the stove southern elk posted on amazon for about 180. Bought one this year and it worked great after we put foil around the door to keep it from drawing to much air. After the foil it would hold coals all night if you stoked it at about 9 or ten and wake up at 6 to 6:30.

Are you planning to use the stove top to cook on? I've found that it can be done, but a good Coleman is much better. The top of the stove warps over time from the heat so contact with the pan gets spotty and hot spots tend to burn the food while the part that is over the warp is under cooked. The top works best when the stove is new and flat. FWIW

Are you planning to use the stove top to cook on?