Unit 64 Wyoming Advice???

Jaycin

I'm a rookie elk hunter and just moved to Wyoming in August. I picked up a leftover cow tag for Unit 64. My buddy and I went out on opening day and hiked around the northeast corner of the unit. We saw 8 bulls throughout the course of the day but not a single cow. Does anyone have experience hunting in this area who might be willing to give me some advice? Thanks in advance!

Since it is a hard draw for bulls, probably not many guys have experience to lend. Usually, if you are not finding anything high, late in the season, you are well served to do what you intend.

When I am hunting a new place, I do just that. I start out low or high. If see nothing or no sign, then I do the opposite the following day. I keep hopping up and down in elevation until I find where the elk are at. It might take a few days to find them in a new area, but you will eventually see more sign at certain elevation, allowing you to formulate a confident strategy from there. Good luck.

Today's Hunt