Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Time to add another teaching cert… WY is cool!

WYelker

So this may not seem like a big deal to some… WY is now offering a Teacher “Endorsement” for hunter education. This will allow teachers to be paid and use part of the regular school day to teach a hunters education course.

This will increase access for the youth, and increase the number of certified instructors in the state.

I am currently working with my principal to have this count for credit for students…

I am in the process of getting mine complete, too. It's all in, just haven't heard back yet. The local G&F officer here told me that we have no one teaching it here in Weston County.

Where are you?

I’ve been teaching hunters Ed in public schools for nearly 15 years. Having a teacher who is a certified instructor or at least interested makes the process much easier. I’ve never had a parent who is upset about their kid taking the class. It’s actually the opposite. Nevertheless a few kids are wondering why they have to take the class so the very first day I explain to the kids it’s not so much hunters education but firearm education. I ask the kids to raise their hand if they have a firearm in their home. I’m sure Wyoming will be similar to Iowa and about half the kids will raise their hand. Next I ask them if an aunt or uncle or grandma and grandpa have a gun in their house. That question leaves only a few who do not have their hand raised so I ask them to look around the room and raise their hand if one of their friends has a firearm in their home. The rest of the hand raise. So I explain to them everyone is around a firearm and they need to know how to safely handle a firearm if they are in that situation.