Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

Synthetic pant odor control

AtenJones

I'm heading on a week-long hunt this Fall, and I'm trying to get my gear sorted out. I'm a midwest guy, so I'm new to this whole backcountry thing. I'm looking at a couple different synthetic pants, because I'd like to be able to use them for other stuff besides just hunting, and most of the reviews of Merino pants seem to question their durability. But, I was curious about odor control on synthetics during a multi-day hunt? Should I take an extra pair, or will one be ok? Right now I'm trying to decide between the First Lite Corrugate Guide pant or the Prana Zion.

Thanks!

Are you coming west? What are you hunting and how? Wearing my Sitka, I'd bring 2 pairs and not worry about it. I would be far more concerned with wind direction. If that wind turns on you, it won't matter what scent control you have on.

This ^

If you are backpacking in and concerned on weight then the one pair you wear in is enough. That's what I do anyway. I only bring Long underwear and a fleece layer to put under my outer Core4 pants. As the day warms I stop and take off the under layers and keep them dry for night time sleeping. All 3 layers could almost walk home on their own after a week but I don't want extra weight of too many extra clothes.

Don't worry about scent control. Im a Midwest whitetail guy as well and understand your concerns but after the first couple miles none of it will matter. You WILL stink. Wind and thermals are the only concerns. Just hunt as you would at home if you didn't have scentlock clothing, dead down wind spray, or an Ozonics machine :)