Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Spot and Stalk Bears

sreekers

Teach me all that you know about spot and stalk bear hunting in the spring. I have never done it before, but I know a lot of you have.

1. What type of terrain do I look for?
2. Vegetation?
3. Elevations?

1.Remote, open hillsides. Grass grows quickest around cliffs and rocks that retain the warmth of the sun's rays.
2. Grass, primarily and other green vegetation.
3. Follow the snowline. The newest green patches below snowline,(within 200-300') seem to be most attractive.
4. The edges of closed logging roads that have been reseeded can be productive.
5. Glass and glass and glass.
6. Evenings are best.

Last edited:
Chucky, fall and spring seasons are a completely different game. Bears are not feeding on grass in the fall.

everything as noted in gerald martins post,,,also look for purple flower patches that are wild onions that they really like,also skunk cabbage meadows once the yellow center blooms,,,generally snow line to 1000 feet below snow line,the bears will follow the snow up in the spring,,nice days make them more active also.watch your wind,they will get out if they smell ya,good luck.

I have always seemed to do well right after an afternoon rain. Seems the bears of both types seem to just come out of the woodwork, 10-15 minutes after an afternoon rain. And all the rest of Geralds advice. Also dandelions, find an old reseeded logging road with dandelions sprouting up, and there will be an inordinate amount of sign on that road. Stalk very slowly up the road and keep eyes peeled.

I have read all of the things about grass before, good confirmation, thanks guys.

Where I am going to be hunting should provide a lot of area with receding snow line and new grass.

What type of cover should I look for them around?