NEW SITKA Ambient 75

scope mounting issues

Mojave3

Hey everyone,

Long post ahead...

First time deer hunter trying to get ready for a Sierra Nevada mule deer hunt. (More questions on that later...) Trying to do this as "on my own" as possible but help is needed.

I'm trying to mount a scope and have been running into problems. I did my best to follow Randy's scope installation video. It was great help but I'm still a rookie and need more advice.

The rifle is a Winchester Model 70 sporter in 270 Win. The scope is a Leupold VX3i 3.5-10x40mm. I used Leupold two-piece dual dovetail bases and rings.

First mistake: when installing the bases, I stripped one of the rear base holes. (Yeah, I was using a torque wrench, set slightly below the recommended in/lbs but it still happened.) A gunsmith was able to use a longer screw that engaged the threads deeper in the hole. He told me this should be fine and that I still had 3 solid points of contact with the other screws and this 4th one was good, but mentioned that switching bases in the future could be a cause for concern.

Next mistake: when seating the scope, I switched the position of the windage and elevation turrets. When the scope wouldn't zero I realized my error. It was embarrassing but easy enough to fix: back out the ring screws and rotate the scope to reorient it correctly and retighten the rings.

Now...it still won't zero. I'm still far right of the bullseye and I'm out of windage adjustment in the turret.

A little research tells me this is probably due to the receiver taps being out of alignment with the bore. It seems like the solution is to swap out the DD bases for Leupold standard windage-adjustable bases and remount the scope. But, being a newbie, I don't totally trust myself with the diagnosis.

So should I remount with windage-adjustable bases? Could it be something else? Is that partially stripped hole a problem?

Thanks in advance!

-Scott