Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Question on Twist Rate

Brian in Montana

I understand that heavier-for-caliber bullets tend to be longer and require a faster twist to stabilize. Does that necessarily mean that a fast twist wouldn't stabilize a lighter bullet well?

I have zero evidence or experience with this but I'm read a bullet spinning too fast is unstable (something like 1 degree off axis which isn't probably noticed at 100 yards), causes excess spindrift at distance, and/or can separate at the muzzle if the jacket is thin.

I have zero evidence or experience with this but I'm read a bullet spinning too fast is unstable (something like 1 degree off axis which isn't probably noticed at 100 yards), causes excess spindrift at distance, and/or can separate at the muzzle if the jacket is thin.
This does make sense to me. It seems there would be something of an optimal spin to stabilize a given bullet, not heavy and light, but I don't know a lot about that.

I ran a 8” twist 220 Swift Ackley 4400fps with a 40 grain nosler ballistic tip and never had accuracy issues.

This does make sense to me. It seems there would be something of an optimal spin to stabilize a given bullet, not heavy and light, but I don't know a lot about that.
Greenhill’s formula can be used to supposedly calculate the optimal twist rate for a bullet. Over stabilization doesn’t seem to be a much of a problem in the real world though.

If a bullet spins too fast, I believe that the term is called “yaw”. The bullet can actually be de-stabilized by “overspinning”, causing a loss of accuracy! memtb

Wouldn't that be akin to a curve ball vs a knuckle ball sort of thing? Wind direction can also either oppose it or reinforce it.
Poorly constructed bullets can spin themselves apart.

I understand that heavier-for-caliber bullets tend to be longer and require a faster twist to stabilize. Does that necessarily mean that a fast twist wouldn't stabilize a lighter bullet well?