Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

permits question - help please!

*Bowdude*

From the Fish and game site info I can not believe what I am reading. You can only get baiting permits at an IDFG office! Based on my trip in from out of state and the area I want to hunt that adds another 300 plus miles and shoots a whole day for *$^%** $12 permit!!!! Plus about $50 in gas!!
If Idaho is serious about reducing the bear pop they have to eliminate this BS as it TOTALLY unacceptable!

Does anyone have any news contrary to this or know of an easy way to get this permit? I see I can get the licence and tags in Missoula on my way thru. But the bait permit aquisition is real bull.

I can't help you with your question, but I'm just curious how you plan on baiting bears in Idaho if you're coming from Wisconsin? Are you bringing all your bait with you and how much time do you have planned for your hunt? I'm no expert on baiting bears but I would think that it could take a week or two of putting out bait to get bears accustomed to coming in to your bait sites, before you would even begin actually hunting them. Like I said I'm just curious how you plan on doing this hunt as it sounds almost impossible for somebody coming from out of state, unless you have unlimited time and money to spend. (but if that were the case the lost day and extra gas money wouldn't be a problem either)

Good questions WH.... I doubt you can get a baitsite up and active in a week. And there is a ton of "downtime" while baiting. Certainly enough time to drive to the F&G office for the permit.

Asterisk,
Try calling F&G and see if they can offer them over the phone and mail them to you. The only reason I know they issue them at the office is they have to hand you the little plastic tag for the site.

But you might want to "re-think" your strategy if you are on a limited time and going to be trying to establish a baitsite in a few days....