New to hunting...

Ben_BlueOx

Hi, you might of seen my other recent posts. I’m totally new to the hunting world. No previous experience at all, so please excuse my ignorance. I have only just applied for my foid card.

long term I’m looking to rifle hunt elk and such.

Any recommendations on brands and specs to focus on? all recommendations welcome, so I can look into things with more detail.

thanks.

Here are two threads to chew on:

Hi, you might of seen my other recent posts. I’m totally new to the hunting world. No previous experience at all, so please excuse my ignorance. I have only just applied for my foid card.

long term I’m looking to rifle hunt elk and such.

Any recommendations on brands and specs to focus on? all recommendations welcome, so I can look into things with more detail.

thanks.
Do you have any firearms experience at all? Budget? Size/recoil tolerance? These are a few things to help narrow the field....

I know this is another one of those questions that is like opening a can of worms because so much I’m sure is personal preference.

After reading the threads you provided, One question I did have, is what is the main differences between the ammo you listed? What considerations would you consider making a choice? I never realized there are so many different setup options.

Do you have any firearms experience at all? Budget? Size/recoil tolerance? These are a few things to help narrow the field....

currently I have zero firearm experience. I have applied for a FOID card and planning to take safety classes and training classes when things open up again.

Im trying to be proactive and get all my ducks in a row so I have less research to do on the back end.

I don’t have a budget set, personally though I would rather pick up a higher—mid or high quality equipment from the start as I would rather go with longevity and put the time in to use it effectively.

as far as recoil goes, I’m guessing the less the better? Size I have no idea?!