My first pack, wanting some opinions.

rmauch20

I am looking at buying my first pack and wanting some opinions on a couple. This would be primarily for an elk trip this fall that the details are still pending on. It’s a friend of a friend type deal but hopefully can make it work.
The first one is the Slumberjack Bounty 4500/2.0. My main concerns are comfort while under weight, durability, is 4500cubic inches large enough for a 5-7 day trip.
Second is the Eberlestock J34 Just one Pack. Same questions as above on this one. I do like the gun scabbard on this one a little better.

I have zero pack buying or pack experience and I understand both of these options are in the budget pack category.

I would also be interested in hearing what other people suggest. I've been outfitting my brother with some gear to go on some backpacking trips with me and have been trying to do it on a budget. Just a thought and others might disagree but you may find a pack like a Gregory Stout to be better than that Slumberjack pack.

IMO, 4500ci is not big enough for a hunt that long unless you'll be packing quite a bit of the stuff on the outside of the pack.

I prefer the Kifaru Gunbearer over a scabbard type system.

I agree with Luke, try them out with a load if you have that option. Of course your budget can have a lot to do with your selection.

If interested in an Eberlestock Blue Widow, I have one I will be selling. I used it sparingly for a 2015 elk trip (spent more time on horses and needed the pack on limited basis). Our next trip will definitely require mostly time with boots on the ground, so I am switching packs to a Kuiu Icon Pro 5200. Little lighter and highly recommended by a couple of friends for our plans. The Eberlestock carried well (max load I had in it was ~60#), but the Kuiu fits me better. Plus the Icon's frame easily can be used with other size packs while keeping the meat shelf capabilities. I have picked up the 1850 for a day pack.