***Montana DIY Public Land Achery Elk***

genesis273

First, when reading, remember that this is coming from a North Carolina whitetail hunter that has never hunted anything on the left side of the Mississippi! :eek: But I want other eastern flatlanders who dream of a hunt like this read this and be encouraged.

I have been dreaming about going on a Montana elk hunt for 25+ years. Being from North Carolina, the logistics are a little tougher than if you live in the general area of Montana. I have been a member of this forum for a few years, and the main reason I joined was because it put that little bug in me and it helped me realize that I could actually do a DIY hunt. Randy and the guys on this forum given me that hope that I needed. After years of putting it off, the opportunity came up from another hunter from NC who has bowhunted elk on Montana public land for 21 years. This guy is a great bowhunter and has the same mindset about hunting as I do.

**The results of this hunt was purely due to the vast knowledge of my friend who I went with. He knew every wallow, every trail, every place that the elk want to be in the drainage that we hunted. We hunted an area that bordered the Idaho border, and this place was pretty steep! More than I`m use to! He warned me well in advanced about the terrain and the altitude!

I have heard that the success rate on this type of DIY hunt was extremely low, but I was willing to take the risk! We planned a 14 day hunt, and also planned on driving the entire 2500 miles cross country to get there.