Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Mannlicher-Schoenaurer

Europe

Trying to help an old friend. Years ago he fell in love with my husbands Mannlicher Schoenauer rifles.

Brent was kind enough to give me a current day review of Pedersoli rifles--thanks Brent.

Barnett in England has some nice stuff from time to time but nothing that fits today. We are in the process of contacting Miedler in Austria, Martini in Canada, Ritter in Germany.

He wants a 6.5 x 54 and a 9.5 x 57.

The negatives from memory is he will not be able to hunt Scotland with the 6.5 x 54, scoping will not be easy and the amount of wood on the rifle, after exposed to the elements, can change zero.

What am I forgetting ? Why do you not like the M/S type rifle ( full length wood, platform, caliber's )

p.s. posted this yesterday and my expert computer skills deleted the post.

Thanks for the assist

I wish I could help you, but I have no experience with Mannlicher-Schoenauers. I see them pop up on GunBroker from time to time and I think about buying one. I believe there's a fair chance that I'd be the only Tennessee whitetail hunter in the woods with one of them, too.

I love the look of most full (Mannlicher) stocked rifles and as Sticks said, the Schoenauers show up regularly on Gunbroker. For me though, the modern Steyrs, Mausers and, to a lesser extent, CZ's are the way to go if you are looking for a full stocked rifle. Scope mounting is easier, parts are more available and service is easier.

Count me in on salivating over them on-line. Ruger made one in 7x54 but actually stamped it .275 Rigby. I still kick myself for not getting one. Though, Jim Corbett's rifle was not full length...........and not a Ruger. Ha! But it would've been cheaper than an actually Rigby that's for sure!

deer shooter, sticksMcKinley and gunshot --thank you gentlemen. appreciate the response's

In response to you three gentlemen and some pm.s I received