Left vs Right fletching?

ImBillT

I’m 99% sure that the correct answer for which direction my fletching SHOULD go, ACCORDING TO CONVENTIONAL WISDOM, for my bow(right handed shooter with a stick) is Left. That said, my 1st choice for broadhead only exists in a right bevel, and my second choice is hard to find in stock in a left bevel. My question is, how big a deal is it really to go with a right helical or right offset for a right handed shooter with a stick bow?

Fletch with the bevel, supposed to be a stabilty thing. Not sure if it really matters but does make basic sense.

I've always heard match the bevel to your fletching, not so much for stability, but if they are opposite (right fletch, left bevel) as soon as the broad head starts penetrating the bevel will turn it opposite of your arrow - unscrewing your broadhead.

But I have no actual first hand knowledge though.

Match the bevel if shooting single bevel. If shooting double bevel, shoot whatever you want as long as it’s not straight…

Go to the Schafer Silvertip web site. Dave has a section on tuning your recurve. The web site has some great reading I think it would be worth your time.

http://www.schafersilvertipbows.com/

Here is the web site. I think you will enjoy it.
I was almost disappointed in the read as it was mostly basic/generic tuning information combined some things that don’t apply to me because I don’t have a rest or a shelf, and the spine recommendations won’t be right because my bows won’t be cut to center shot, BUT the two good nuggets in there are that he seems to think fletching direction, and clearance, aren’t terribly important if you’re using feathers. That’s good to know.