Hunting tips in Wisconsin

[email protected]

I am new to bow hunting. I need help looking for deer signs in the woods. I have really no idea what I am looking for and have a hard time spotting or scouting a good site. I can see obvious signs like prints in the sand or dirt and deer droppings. I cant seem to find beeding signs or places or to assess more likely travel locations for the deer. Any ideas? I am in the La Crosse are of wisconsin.

Thanks,

Clinton

get out now and look for sheds. Good time to see travel routes in the snow and often they are the same in fall if the snow is not too deep over were you are.
Look for white oaks in early october for the mast crop. Deer much prefere white oak over red oak acorns. Really you need to get out there and look around real good. In a few weeks when the snow melts off you should still be able to see where the bucks were making scrapes in the fall so get out and hike, and look around for sign. check those areas again in the fall.. a lot of them will be there again under the same licking branch. In your area there is a lot of farms, go knock on doors and see if you can get on some AG land. If one out of 10 say yes, well there you go. I hate to say it, but you can really only learn so much from reading anything but will learn a lot by getting out there year after year and making adjustments. BTW, make sure you don't ignore or be lazy about scent. Play the wind, dont sit or hang a stand in a good spot if the wind is wrong, deer smell you long before you see them spook and you will never know they were even coming your way before they winded you.

Last edited: