Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Getting a start in Wyoming

wm burwell

I know the rules of Wyoming, if you are a non resident you need a guide to hunt wilderness. I am a non resident who lives in NC. Its a little difficult to run out to Wyoming to scout for elk. What I'm looking for is a national forest to start to research with good access and decent numbers of elk. Willing to get off the beaten path. I know there are areas like this in Wyoming, but having a hard time pin pointing an area. More interested in areas for bow hunting. Any help or nudge in the right direction would be appreciated. Not looking for your honey hole. Just a place to start. Thanks for any help.

I recommend starting with a list of all Wyoming elk units that have a decent amount of NF land..

http://wgfd.wyo.gov/web2011/imgs/QRDocs/WGFD14_ELK_SUMMAP.pdf

If you are going with a General Tag, cross out all Limited Quota areas. There are a few units that are almost completely wilderness, might as well cross these out as well unless there is enough accessible public land to hunt around the wilderness boundary.

Then, check harvest data on the units you are still considering..

http://wgfd.wyo.gov/web2011/hunting-1001530.aspx

Some areas will begin to stand out from others. Pick one you like and go hunting.

Most any unit in Wyoming that has national forest lands will meet your requirement of "good access and decent numbers of elk." Get a map of the national forests and you can then compare that to the elk units. Pick a spot and go. You won't regret it.

Good luck.

Wyoming