Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Flaky Howa Kuiu...Warranty Update

thomas89

DCC9806B-DFB9-4EF3-9735-87985C6B3CAE.jpeg

Think this is a first or second model Howa Kuiu in Verde, with some crazy stuff happening to the finish. It’s been bubbly for quite some time but is now totally starting to chip off. Lady at Howa said that it was the cerakote coming undone, but I can’t find anything about the stocks being Cerakoted. Anybody got two cents to spare?

Attachments

• 8B096C50-EC28-497C-953A-04F69561964C.jpeg
    8B096C50-EC28-497C-953A-04F69561964C.jpeg
    3.8 MB · Views: 24
I am no expert but I think the stock should be hydro dipped and not cerakoted. I have had two of my guns hydro dipped and its fantastic. But maybe yours is cerakoted are and that's why its coming off? I think ( thought) cerkaote needed to metal surfaces to adhere correctly. BUT, I may be way wrong on this.

I have an American flag Howa and its sure looks like Hydro dip to me. Looks just like the others I have had done.

It appears to be a Hogue stock, and it's just the outer "sticky/tacky" layer coming off. The actual dip/print on the stock looks like it's staying on just fine. I had the same thing happen on a Savage stock that had a similar finish.

It appears to be a Hogue stock, and it's just the outer "sticky/tacky" layer coming off. The actual dip/print on the stock looks like it's staying on just fine. I had the same thing happen on a Savage stock that had a similar finish.
I agree the camo print still looks to be in good shape. Just a little irritating to have a rifle looking rough, along with having to shake all the little flecks out of the case every time.

We’ll see about their lifetime warranty, but I’m already getting the feeling they are warrantying only the barreled action.

I agree the camo print still looks to be in good shape. Just a little irritating to have a rifle looking rough, along with having to shake all the little flecks out of the case every time.