First Antelope

Jcour4

Last Thursday I left Mississippi and headed to Wyoming for an antelope hunt with my dad. I met me dad in Missouri and we finished the long drive to Wyoming. We crossed the border into Wyoming as the sun was rising Friday morning. We started seeing plenty of mule deer and antelope but we still had a long way to get to our unit.

We finally arrived to our unit and started to drive the roads to find some antelope. We didn't have to go far to start seeing hundreds of antelope. We drove down a dead end road and got out to glass some grassland bottoms. There were a bunch of antelope that were a long ways away from any roads. We set up camp in the area and drove around to look for more antelope.

This was our first antelope hunt and I'm not really good at judging antelope especially from a long ways away but we looked over a lot of bucks and I had an idea of what was average for the unit. We headed back to camp in the evening and I took the camera out to do some filming. I spotted a group of a does and a nice buck. He looked to have good mass and a very good curl. He would be our focus for opening morning.