Finding elk near Bozeman

RobertSimo

Hi all! I am fairly new to the elk hunting world. I have been trying to dial it in for two seasons without any luck. I live in Bozeman, MT. My schedule does not allow me to take lots of time off during the week. So I am a weekend warrior elk hunter. Just wonder what people think about that. Is it even worth trying if I can't spend days out in the woods? Also if it is worth it, what direction should I go from Bozeman to find elk? North, south, east or west? There is so much public land around Bozeman it's hard to narrow down where elk will be.

Thanks

Robert

all directions. put boots on the ground, talk to as many as people as you can and do on line research. I did it from SC. 3 bulls in 2 years. Man you live in Montana, no reason in the world why you can't do it. it starts in the offseason.

Hi all! I am fairly new to the elk hunting world. I have been trying to dial it in for two seasons without any luck. I live in Bozeman, MT. My schedule does not allow me to take lots of time off during the week. So I am a weekend warrior elk hunter. Just wonder what people think about that. Is it even worth trying if I can't spend days out in the woods? Also if it is worth it, what direction should I go from Bozeman to find elk? North, south, east or west? There is so much public land around Bozeman it's hard to narrow down where elk will be.

Thanks

Robert

Check out Mammoth.

Literally drive 45 min in any direction. I moved to MT from CO with no elk hunting experience, bought a rifle and put my time in hiking around every weekend during the season and then exploring during the following summer and was able to get a bull opening day 15min from town and a cow later that season about 45 min out.