PEAX Equipment

Elk heart?

Chucknduck

Got my elk this morning and saved the heart. Gonna cook it for supper tomorrow. I have never cooked one so I'm looking for some recipes. I worked as a guide 10 years ago and camp cook would cook the hearts. They were great. I know ha fried them but can't remember the way he did it. Any suggestions

I like them best when they are fried in oil with onions (dust them with seasoned flour before frying). Steve Rinella has an episode where he cooks heart like 5 different ways- good stuff. Always save the heart ;)

I like them best when they are fried in oil with onions (dust them with seasoned flour before frying). Steve Rinella has an episode where he cooks heart like 5 different ways- good stuff. Always save the heart ;)

That's what we do with them. Flour and fry then smother them in onions and dip in horseradish. Doesn't get much better than that!

We usually boil them with spices, then slice and eat in a sandwich. Elk heart and deer heart is much better than beef heart, in my opinion.

On my hunt in Newfoundland, the guide's wife/cook stuffed and baked a moose heart and it was off the charts.

I slice the heart and soak it all day and over night in salt water, changing the water every couple of hours before bed. In the morning I will rinse it real well and fill that container with buttermilk and let the heart slices sit in the buttermilk all day. When I'm ready to cook them I will cook a pound of bacon to get the grease and them make up a bowl of seasoned flour. I'll take the heart slices out of the milk and dredge them in the flour and then into the hot bacon grease. Sometimes I have made a beer batter and after dredging the flour, dipped them in the beer batter and deep fried them in vegetable oil. Fajitas and tacos get boring.

Last edited:
Think I'll try and fry it in oil and onions. Gonna start trimming it up