PEAX Equipment

Colorado Unit 80 General Scouting Questions

bdlittleton

first post, hoping to gather some useful information.

I'm beginning scouting now with the intent of making my first OTC trip in 2017 or 2018 depending on availability of funds and my vacation time.

I work as a natural resource consultant professionally so I have access to good GIS data and I've already been creating and pouring over maps of the area. I would like my first hunt in Colorado to be Unit 80 as I have spent more time in this area of the state and have a lot of found memories of hiking and fishing in this area when I was younger. I intend to put in for the mule deer draw for 2017 and also purchase an OTC elk tag.

I am leaving tomorrow for a family trip to do some fishing and hiking with my kids and my parents and I plan to take one morning to myself to go out and see if I can locate some elk in the Handkerchief Mesa area. The last time I was in South Fork (2006) I remember hiking up here and seeing some elk, I also had really good luck fishing Poage Lake, so my very preliminary plan for 2017 is to basecamp there and hunt the North Mountain, Handkerchief Mesa, Ribbon Mesa, and Hogback Mesa area.

I know this is a heavily pressured unit and competition will be high, so I am not expecting an favors here. Just hoping to hear from other hunters about there experience with this area. I am a meat hunter/ experience hunter first and foremost and I am really just wanting to get some time in the mountains under my belt. My hunting experience has been entirely on whitetails and pigs in Texas and I'm just trying to stretch my legs a bit before I get to old to do so. Also, I enjoy hearing other peoples hunting stories as much as making my own, so I'd really just like to start a conversation with people with experience in this area.

thanks,

Brandyn