PEAX Equipment

Colorado Elk hunt advice

illinoisdeerfarmer

I am in dire need of some good advice on Colorado elk hunting. I am a complete beginner to elk hunting. I went back in 2006 to GMU 18 the first week of archery. But never seen nor heard a single elk. I have to do the DIY hunts due to the budget. I have saved up a total of 5 preference points. I know that is not enough to get me in a great unit. I don't have alot of friends that hunt, so it will also be a solo archery hunt. The question I really need some serious advice on is which unit is best for a solo beginning elk bowhunter? I have looked over tons of forums, maps, data, etc. But it is very overwhelming to just try to pick a spot with very limited knowledge. Any advice you guys might have would be GREATLY appreciated. I know most folks don't want to give out their "secret spot" locations and respect that. I'm just looking for any help at all. Thanks in advance!!!

Are you stuck on archery only? IMHO/E to many guys new to the elk game go archery or bust. Look at the success rates between archery and rifle seasons, it can be pretty substantial. I would learn elk habits and habitat and knock a few down with a rifle first before handicapping yourself. Contrary to most hunting shows out there most public land elk won't come running into a call. Those hunts are usually private land and/or limited entry. You can still call elk here, but I have seen them slip in quietly, observe, and then leave before we even knew what was going on.