baselayer bargains

VAspeedgoat

I have rescently been researching and puzzling over revamping my baselayers for my first mulie hunt this fall. I currently have both light and mid weight layers that are commmon synthetic baselayers. It doesn't take long to live up to the old adage of cotton kills synthetic stinks. Scent killer spray just doesn't seem to cut it. Consequently, it appears that I need to look at a marino wool or wool blend base.

My question to those of you who have experience with this, what brand names do you reccomend. It is easy for me to find them online but another to judge quality or value. Also are the wool blends or synthetics with some sort of scent control as good as the marino base layers. It is really hard for me to spend so much on "long johns" but I have no experience with ti make an informed decision on what to buy.

Thanks for any help or opinions

You'll get more experienced/informed opinions from others, but in my limited use of merino wool (after dumping the old cheap cotton long-johns) is that it is crazy expensive but much better performing. I've got some from Core4Element and Sitka, but my favorite base piece is a merino hooded top from Ibex. Last November hunting Montana during that polar-plunge cold spell I was very impressed with my Ibex top for comfort, warmth and lack of stink.

Went to dicks yesterday and got a under Armour base layer suit with scent lock on sale for $62 with tax. This is the second set I have and I love them.

I used to have all synthetics until after my first trip out west. I soon learned that crap all needed thrown out. I've been happy with several name brands, Sitka, Kuiu, First lite, Core4 & Minus33 to name a few. Yes, it's a little pricey but if you shop around you can find great deals, the wool is worth it to me, will never go back to synthetics. My favorite wool is Kuiu brand. Good luck.