Any advice for finding elk in the post rut of Northwestern Montana?

metataylor

I am an absolute, absolute beginner when it comes to elk. I have hunted deer for years but I have never even seen a bull elk in my entire life. I have seen a handful of cows but where I live it is just incredibly thick in most places and they are just not something you see around, I live in the Flathead Valley ( Northwest corner of the state).

So I am hoping to get some general info about Elk and their patterns so that I can hopefully get an elk this year.

First, I am of the understanding that during this time of the year (now until end of hunting season in late november) the bulls will be more secluded and NOT in herds with the Cows, is this correct or mostly correct?

Second, What elevation do they like to be during what temperatures? Do they go low when it is cold or do they stay high up? Also what is "High and low" There are places I can hunt that are at the base of a mountain, the top of a mountain, or low in a valley. They could be thousands of feet difference in elevation so it might be nice to have some actual numbers of elevation that relate to temperature if anyone has some.

Third, do elk really care about snow? Obviously snow makes it colder but given a normal temp would they even care about snow?

Fourth, Where should I be looking when I am actually looking at a mountain. Should I be looking at openings, meadows, partially wooded areas, cliffs, valleys? I am of the belief that I have been within a half mile of hundreds of elk before (based on sign and tracks) but I have just never known where to look.

Fifth, what in your personal opinion is the best time to find an elk, early morning is my guess. Some people say evening and some people have told me "literally any time of day" but I am hoping for some opinions here.