Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

2013 NV Elk

lbirch

As I walked outside I looked up and I saw stars, the Milky Way and the moon. I haven't seen them in 5 days and I knew what that meant. Let's get to that trailhead because its going to be a great day!

We started our hike before light with enough time to get to our first glassing spot about a mile away. The bull we had been after for two days ducks into the trees early just after first light. He is a smart bull.

One. Two. Three were out feeding. The fourth was not there. How could he be in the trees already? We setup the Vortex Razor spotting scope to get a look at the three bulls and confirm they were the three standing lookout for their bigger friend. Two we've seen before, the third was a new 6 by with a broken sword. Watching him from 2 miles away we could tell he was a good bull but he wasn't the bull I was after.

I studied him some more as he feed to the left. Just then in the corner of the scope I could see a bull bedded in the trees. He looked heavy, he appeared to have all his points and he was a 6pt. It looked like him. Still at 2 miles away he didn't come through the scope all that well. We needed a closer look.

At 3/4 of a mile we stopped to glass again. It was at this point I decided we needed to get this bull. He was in a good spot and it appeared he was bedded there for the day. The small knoll off in the distance looked to be a good spot to head to and glass him another time, then make the final decision. On our way there we glassed the bulls through our binocs and we could see him standing, feeding and on the move obviously searching for a better bed. He didn't know we were closing the distance but we didn't have time to waste.