What does he score

Status
Not open for further replies.
He is currently number 2 on my general archery public land hit list. Number 1 is around 15 inches bigger, but I have not been able to get any film of him. This buck is not a giant, but I would be thrilled to get him!

[video=youtube_share;W1sv7B8Ki6I]https://youtu.be/W1sv7B8Ki6I[/video]

155 to 165 gross? I'm not experienced at judging muleys. A whitetail I could come much closer, not real confident in those numbers. Somebody had to take a guess and start.

158-160, I'd be shooting before I even had time to think about it!!
Here is a 166 buck for reference.

1382927_10202428648144332_827374608_n.jpg

A nice clean 4x4. Pretty symmetrical, it's my buddies buck.

Good luck OP finding those bucks, keep us posted!

Who cares about the score? Scores are for impressing people on TV. If he gets you excited and you're proud of him, then shoot him.

No one has ever said anything more true in this forum. Worrying about a set of antlers is like finding the perfect woman in a bar that you have everything in common-- smart, funny, great job... oh but her rack isn't big enough so I'll pass up the shot. The question then shifts to are you actually looking to meet a great woman or are you just wanting a certain bra size? Do we hunt for meat, and the experience, and to be one with nature and everything else we tell people when they ask us or are we looking for antlers? I'd shoot a spike if it was big and legal

I never hunted with a ruler. For me it was always about hunting with friends and the experience, I like the meat more than horns, but I sure wouldn't pass-up a trophy.