Unit 55 Colorado

Tbeak

Thinking about going here this year. Have heard about Taylor park and crested butte.

Anyone have ideas about terrain and habitat? I don't want to know your spots this is just my second year elk hunting so I'm a NEWB.

any help is greatly appreciated

What season are you planning and resident or not? Over the counter tags in some of the gun seasons for residents. It has been years since I've hunted there, but it was crowded in those days. Fine country. Elk could be above timberline early, which means high altitude.

I guess that woulda been good to say what season. I'm planning muzzleloader. I'm a resident and plan on doing otc rifle this year as well if muzzleload doesn't pan out.

Any benefits to the east side vs west side of the unit?

Yelp it's the atv capital of the world! I would stay away from Creste butte area in my opinion. It's too touristy and PPl out on the atv roads etc. But taylor park is the same way. I've hunted it twice abd there are elk but u will def work for them. Very high altitude hunt Id day for muzzle loader the elk will be at least 10k plus and closer to 11-12k

I am heading to 55 for rifle elk for the first time this season. I am going with a friend who has hunted it in the past so I am going to be learning myself. Good luck

I guess that woulda been good to say what season. I'm planning muzzleloader. I'm a resident and plan on doing otc rifle this year as well if muzzleload doesn't pan out.

Any benefits to the east side vs west side of the unit?

Um... no your not all 55 Tags are type A... you legally can only hunt 1 A tag a season
license.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:
Hmm interesting

Just spoke with cpwd, dang it. Messed up my plan. But basically I need to get the leftover and pick a B hunt. Easy fix but not what I wanted.

Last edited: