PEAX Equipment

Native Montana License

Beartooth83

I am curious how many of you former Montanans are taking advantage of the Native Montanan hunting licenses.

http://fwp.mt.gov/hunting/licenses/all/nativeHuntingLicense.html

I was born in Montana. (But now I've been an ND resident for the past 2 years) My father and sister still live in MT, so I qualify for the discounted tags. It's a great benefit for us MT born hunters who want to keep coming back. It definitely keeps some cash in my pocket. And it will keep me coming back to Montana year after year. Whereas I would probably put more effort in other states if the benefit didn't exist.

With the spotlight on legislation in regards to special licenses, fees, etc., I'm concerned this special license may be one of the things being looked at. Does anyone know if this license is being addressed in any legislation?
Either way, I plan to express my appreciation for the license and explain how it is beneficial to both the ones that qualify for it, and how it is beneficial to the FWP and the state. I'd like to add that I'm not opposed to a slight proportional increase to these tags fees. I know resident tag price increases are being looked at and most residents are willing to pay a little extra. As am I for these special tags. I just don't want to see it totally go away.

Randy, in another recent post, you have a list of FWP committee members. Would these be the appropriate people to address my concerns? And are there others that I should include?

Last edited:
Yes, those would be the people you would communicate with. And yes, the special licenses are being looked at as big holes in the financial ship of FWP. I suspect that one of the two "former resident" license programs is going to be targeted for repeal.

You can contact the Senate Fish and Game committee, also. Those are the two committees that hunting/fishing bills will be heard in (most the time).

Thanks for the reply, Randy.