Wyoming general elk tag units

Andrewlonghi

I'm looking at two units in Wyoming that have high grizzly #'s and i have zero experience with them. Really want to bow hunt but leaning towards going with a gun because of the grizzlies. Are they more active during the archery season vs gun season or generally all the time? I've read lots and lots of info on how/ what to do with my camp, food, and meat if I harvest a elk. I will have bear spray and a sidearm. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

I'm looking at two units in Wyoming that have high grizzly #'s and i have zero experience with them. Really want to bow hunt but leaning towards going with a gun because of the grizzlies. Are they more active during the archery season vs gun season or generally all the time? I've read lots and lots of info on how/ what to do with my camp, food, and meat if I harvest a elk. I will have bear spray and a sidearm. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.
A good friend of mine offered a bow hunting client he was guiding some solid advice when they got close to a grumpy griz, "get your bear spray out and take your beating like a man.".

Hunt with a buddy who can handle his shit if you're worried about griz. Those things are other worldy fast and basically invisible in the brush.

They will be active during both seasons, so hunt whichever one you want.

You’re more likely to die from a car crash driving to your hunt then running into a grizzly encounter. Just be smart and cautious. I’m always amazed how grizzly bears are never talked about on Alaska hunts but are a big deal around yellowstone and in the bob.

Elite, having spent a good amount of time hunting in both wy and the far north you will notice a Big difference in the way lower 48 bears behave. If those northern bears pull that crap they end up front and center in a grip and grin. These greater Yellowstone rascals feel entitled.