Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Rookie to the west.

PlusFive

Hello,

I am new to the fourm and western hunting in general. However, I am not new to hunting. I grew up an avid, some might say obsessed, whitetail and turkey hunter in west central Wisconsin. Due to an imminent move to Bozeman MT this August, I applied for my general non res elk deer combo license.

This thread to many might appear redundant, but I would like to condense the information from many threads into one. Which is, what are the essential tools/rules for a western public land hunt? Specifically south west MT.

Already being an avid hunter you can assume I have a top quality rifle and bow, and am proficent with both. In this place I am looking for the easily forgotten objects or skill sets that a midwest whitetail hunter may overlook when planning his or her trip due to lack of expirence.

Thank you in advance and I am truly jumping out of my skin in excitement for the chance to chase mountian game.

Optics, boots, backpack and conditioning are some things more needed out there than what you use chasing whitetails and turkeys.

Boots and packs are the two most foreign peices of equipment to me. By foreign I dont mean that I dont use them, rather the purposes are different.

I know it gets cold in MT. As it does in my home hunting grounds. However, whitetail hunting usually invovles perching over a food source for hours on end in a tree. Therefore, my boots are all 800 to 1200 gram insulated. Most are rubber for the swamps as well. Would an 800 gram 8 inch hunting boot be too much for there? I have heard several hunters, none really from MT yet say that anything over 400 gram is extra weight to which I wonder how much time is really spent remaiming in a hiding or glassing position for ambush?

Long question short, should a western boot be made for warmth or mobility?