Caribou Gear

Reducing taxes

sigpros

So I was looking through my paystubs and realized I have paid a lot in taxes this year. I have a pension but have started to put money in a 401K. I am new to investing and have a few questions. My 401K isn't matched at all by my employer. Should I be maxing out my contibution pre tax and will that lower my tax liability? Also should I put money in after tax if I max out the $23K we can put in next year?

Just because you are having income tax withheld from your paycheck doesn't mean you actually owe that much. You won't know for sure until you file your taxes and either get a refund or owe more.

Contributing to your 401k would lower your tax liability. It should reduce your income tax withholding on your paycheck as well.

Depending on your income level after you max out your 401k you might be able to contribute to a ROTH IRA with after tax money. That won't affect your current taxes though.

Roth first…
That's not going to do anything to help him with his taxes that he is concerned about.

Roth is 100% dependent on whether you think you are paying a higher tax rate now or when you retire (or if you are maxed out on your 401k).

I'm at my peak earnings and expect that my tax rate will be lower after I retire so saving 32% tax now and then paying 24% tax when I make the withdrawals seems like the way to go.

With that said, after I max out my pre-tax 401k I then do a back door Roth IRA for myself and for my wife. This gives me a little bit of after tax money that I can play around with to maximize use of tax brackets at retirement.

If you are young and your tax rate is low by all means use the Roth 401k or Roth IRA options that are available.

K
That's not going to do anything to help him with his taxes that he is concerned about.

Roth is 100% dependent on whether you think you are paying a higher tax rate now or when you retire (or if you are maxed out on your 401k).