Opinions on the Savage Mark II F

SFC B

I am looking for a 22 for small game hunting. I have never hunted small game before (other than sparow with a bb gun) but want to extend my time in the woods. My choices have basically come down to a 10/22 and the Savage Mark II F. I am leaning toward the Savage as I am not a great fan of autoloader rifles other than the ARs. What are your experiences?

I've always been a fan of Savage rifles (I have no experience with the Mark II. I own a 10/22 and I feel the 10/22 is a better option for a 22lr on the side that you can customize these rifles so much more than one would ever want to. You can go extreme on the target side or extreme on the "tacti-cool" side. Even a stripped down factory plain 10/22 is a good shooting rifle.

+1 for the 10-22. Not to say the Savage isn't a great option. I have a box stock 10-22. Tried a few "Premium" .22lr hunting options. Mine will put 5 CCI Quick-Shocks into less than an inch at 75yds. Haven't shot it for accuracy at 100, but It is certainly minute of Gopher head... The longest first shot kill I have on gophers is 113 yds, and 165 on prarie dogs. Anyhow most of my gopher shooting is offhand at 30-60 yds, a quick follow up shot is all sorts of handy.

I also like the 10/22 best. I have 3 and these rifles are great shooters out of the box... slap a decent scope on and they are tac drivers. Also, as someone mentioned, the ability to customize is nice. I have the International thats stainless, a bone stock one, and one that I am putting the Archangle (sp?) kit on possibly this weekend. My vote is for the Ruger. :D

I also like the 10/22 best. I have 3 and these rifles are great shooters out of the box... slap a decent scope on and they are tac drivers. Also, as someone mentioned, the ability to customize is nice. I have the International thats stainless, a bone stock one, and one that I am putting the Archangle (sp?) kit on possibly this weekend. My vote is for the Ruger. :D