Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Newbie..mountain rifle

BrokenWing

I'm a noob to Western big game.

My 2016 MT NR combo looks to be a guarantee although maybe shouldn't count my chickens.

Anyway, I've got a great 300 win mag with good optics that I'm very comfortable with. Thing is a tank though, 9 lbs easy. I know that heaving my way up a mountain/hillside, I'll be happy to have that heavy implement if I ever get to look down the scope.

This is THE gun I'll be using but I am curious if you guys who live and breath western elk/deer/bear, etc. are lightweight mountain rifle proponents? Not second guessing, just curious.

I would like to have one, but I just spent that $ on Swaros. As far as priorities go, a ultralight rifle is lower on the list. I will have one someday, but not until I have a high end spotter,and several other bigger ticket items.
I think a Forbes or Sako finnlite is probably a good balance of quality at a reasonable pricepoint. Cooper mtn ascents are popular
A lot of good things said about Tikka t3, especially for the $.

I guess I'm lucky in the fact I did not have a rifle made for 'western" hunting so I was able to cough up some cash recently. I went with the Howa Alpine Mountain rifle and topped it off with a Leupold VX-3i and Talley rings. Only weighs 6 pounds 9 ounces.

You can get a lightweight rifle that shoots good pretty easily now days. So for me, no reason to lug 2 extra pounds up the mountain. IMO

I didn't really notice how heavy my 9 # Mark X was until I passed 55 and tore up my right shoulder. A neoprene sling helped, but eventually I went to a 6 # rifle/scope package for carrying over hill and dale after CO elk.

I would like to have one, but I just spent that $ on Swaros. As far as priorities go, a ultralight rifle is lower on the list. I will have one someday, but not until I have a high end spotter,and several other bigger ticket items.