NEW SITKA Ambient 75

Does anybody Caribou?

joshimoto son

Hi all,

Just registered today, although I have been lurking for about a year.
My college buddy and I were talking about making plans to go on a caribou trip.
Since he is busy working and raising a family and I am spending every last dime I have trying to become a successful BASS angler. We figured that five years would be enough time to save up and do our research for a quality cairbou hunt.

We are not cheap, we know the type of hunt we're looking for is not sitting under a big smiley face at Wal-Mart.

I will start out with an easy one, and then hopefully, as I get to know a lot of you, ask some more detailed questions.

What herd?

I'm just getting started on my research but I'm pretty sure there are five different species of Caribou... The Quebec Labrador(sp?) being the largest.

I would be greatfull for any input.

Thanks,

Josh

Josh, I'm headed to Quebec in Sep. hunting with the Twin River Lodge. If you're talking a guided hunt then you should plan to book 2 years in advance. If you're wanting a DIY hunt, then i would lean towards Alaska. You'll want to research the area & ask lots of questions.

Best of luck!

Josh,

I'm biased but think the backpack Mountain Caribou hunts in NWT, Yukon, or B. C. are the way to go. More spot and stalk than sitting in front of a migration waiting for a good bull. You can also combo the hunt for moose, sheep, or other than the NWT, grizzly as well. Even if you don't want to or can't afford to hunt the other game, you will see those animals on a regular basis while hunting Mountain Caribou. The mountain sceenery is better too, IMO. The hunts for them are generally more expensive, however.

Buschy, 280Rem

This hunt will more or less be a one time deal, so I really think that a guided hunt would hopefully ensure better memories.