advice please

cowman

Howdy fellas, im new to this site and am a novice at internet communication in general. I raise cattle for a living and mention this fact because its my primary reason for this post. Each year we lose a significant number of newborn calves to yotes.

My entire life I have shot at every coyote that offered me an opportunity but I have never truly hunted for them. This year, here in Eastern Mt. we have an excessive number of coyotes and calving is about 2 1\2 months away so I decided to aggressively hunt these critters to minimize income loss.

What i could use some advice on is what type of call do you expert yote hunters recommend, and are there any specific tactics I should employ when using a call as I have never used one before? Thanks in advance fellas, any input is appreciated.

There are lots and lots of books, videos and articles written about this subject.

The BEST way to learn is to find someone and have them show you the basics.

Good luck. Once you start getting a few, you will never quit.

Maybe if i'm ever in your area I can show you a few examples.

I haven.t lost any to yotes yet but I'm in IA. They seem to be killing all the baby deer right now. Bald eagles been killing some new calves here:mad: I'd give some advice but it might not be the greatest. Go and have fun all I got for advice.

The number one call every yote Hunter blows is a rabbit distress. That's why I usually start with bird in distress. Dogs aren't dumb and it only takes one time getting shot at before they learn. Another good one is pup ki yi.(whimpering puppies) Brings mom and dads running in. Being that your on a cattle farm, why not sit over a fresh after birth? Don't forget to make sure it's legal in your state. Good luck.

Have you thought about snaring or trapping? That's probably one of the best ways to put a dent in numbers.