MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

New to this forum, A Colorado Hunter

ramlinwillie

Hi,
New to this forum, so I thought I would introduce myself. I’ve been hunting Pheasants for about 40 years. The last six years I’ve been retired and started hunting with my first dog, a Brittany that I trained and last year I rescued a GSP, she’s still acts like a pup and I’m not pushing her in her training, letting her tag along.
Until this year when I hunted Nebraska for Sharp-tail, I’ve only hunted Colorado and have always had birds in the freezer. This year I started hunting September 1st, going after Dusky Grouse, and then hunted Mountain Sharp-tail, then onto Sage Grouse killing all three in September and a few Dusky’s in October, between my stepson and I we’ve taken 20 grouse, I also tried to find some Prairie Chickens, but they were not where I located them off season last year. I’ve only went after pheasants once this year and Kramer locked into several hens and then I was able to knock down a rooster for him that hunt. I’ve been out after Bob White Quail the rest of the season and we have killed 27, the number is low only because they are hard to hit and will hunt them one more time this season. The month of January will be all pheasant, there is a lot in Eastern Colorado, but hard to corner, hopefully we’ll have some success.
My goal is to mount all Colorado upland birds; I still have to get a Prairie Chicken, Scale Quail, Ptarmigan and Chukar, the first three I will get one year, but Chukar I’ll probably never get to hunt, not sure of anywhere on public land you can hunt them.
I like seeing pictures on theses forum, so I’ll add a few.
Thanks
Kramer flushed one over a small hill, (here’s a picture of him in the grass, hard to see, lots of cover again this year.
IMG]http://i448.photobucket.com/albums/qq204/ramlinwillie/081109006.jpg[/IMG]
Opening day on Dusky’s:
081109002.jpg

081109001.jpg

081109008.jpg

Then onto Mountain Sharp-tail: