Yeti GOBOX Collection

Matthews Monster?

huntin24/7

After waiting to see what new bows came out for 2012 i'm leaning towards the Matthews Monster 6 or 7 from 2010 and 2011. Does anyone have any personal experience or feedback about these bows. I practice a lot and regularly shoot 3D out to 80+ yds but will be using primarily for hunting. My primary concern is the 6" brace height of the MR6. I appreciate any info. anyone might have. Thanks.

The new PSE looks sweet and @ 366 ft/sec. ought to work for hunting! The Omen.

Last edited:
If you shoot regularly to 80 yards then you likely have very good, repeatable form and a 6" brace height won't matter.

I shot the Monster 7 once and never picked one up again. I'm not an expert at anything archery, but it wasn't that smooth, a little louder than others and for the price you can do better. I'm a bowtech guy though so my opinion is scewed.

I know a lot of people that shoot a Mathews but very few that prefer the Monster. I shoot the first generation Z7 and love it. You should try one if you haven't already. Good luck.

PSE Omen is pretty awesome and similar to the monster. I shot an Omen, Monster and the Alphamax side by side and loved the PSE. Wasnt crazy about the Monster and the Alphamax was just like any other hoyt. To each his own though

I don't like the newer Mathews bows at all. The Monsters have a bunch of issues. I would look at anything else. Check out the Limbsaver Proton, Quest Primal, even some of the Bear Achery bows are good. Don't just go with what's popular because of it being popular. Only you should make the decision on what to get. If you are set on a Mathews, go to their website and check out the forums and see what those guys are saying. But if you do, remember these guys are hardcore Mathews guys.