Caribou Gear Tarp

Ell hide fire extinguisher

Polefan307

I am an accomplished resident Wyoming elk hunter having hunted elk here for 36 years. I was in utter shock and disbelief watching Randy's central Wyoming hunt when he threw part of an elk hide over his camp fire as if it where some kind of fire extinguisher. Obviously, it didn't start a fire this time. But, We have a very dry climate here and it doesn't take much to start a fire that would consume the beloved country that those elk call home. My hope is that his future hunting shows do not teach similar reckless behaviors.

I don't believe Randy would do anything that would harm Mother Nature or the animals within.

Welcome to the forum.

I just watched the footage again. It shows we had kicked out this small fire, stomping it down and putting dirt over it. Yes, I did take a piece of the hide from my elk and place it leather side down, over the spot where this fire had been.

It has been a while since I took my college Physics and Chemistry classes, but I suspect a fresh elk hide has a pretty high ignition temperature. Especially when considering it was placed over the remnants of a small fire that had been snuffed out.

We walked past the spot later that evening on our way out. There was not even an ember remaining, even in that wind. Our efforts to put out this small fire worked as expected, especially when preceded by letting the fire burn down, stomping out whatever embers remained, then kicking dirt over the top of those embers.

I appreciate your concern and that you would post such here, but I would disagree that this action was reckless. It represents a greater effort to insure this small fire was completely out, beyond normal suppression actions of dispersing the fire and putting dirt over it.

Thanks for watching and thanks for signing up for the forum.