NR Whitetail hunts

C_Dick_Run

I'm a Montana resident so I'm lucky enough to get to hunt WT every year with a general tag. In the future (4-5 years) I'm hoping to have some time available to expand to some out of state WT hunts. I've just started doing some research into other states I could drive to (WY, ND, SD, NE, KS, IA) seasons/tags/points tyring to figure what state or states would be best to focus on. DIY with good public access is the kind of hunt I'm looking for. Rifle would be my first choice but open to shotgun/archery as well as that would likely lead to more tag opportunity. Just looking for opinions on which of the states listed offers the best opportunity, or others I might be overlooking?

Different type of hunting but I would look into Western Kentucky bow hunt on public land.

From the state options that you gave I would go with either Kansas, or Iowa with a slight edge going to Iowa strictly because of the less hunting pressure of the two and the higher quality of deer. It will take you four years of preference points until you draw there. My advice is to go for an archery tag as well just because the less hunting pressure and the time of the year when you can hunt in the rut. Iowa has some very good public ground as does Kansas(walk in hunting).

The other states you mentioned are mostly over the counter tags and have more public ground but the quality of deer might not be as high as Kansas and Iowa.

Nebraska and Idaho. Tag opportunities abound. And so does public land. Nebraska is overlooked and has over a million acres of of land to chase WT on. And way more cost effective than say Iowa or Kansas. I lived in North Dakota and there was good hunting opportunities along the little Missouri river. Not sure what part of Montana ur in but that would be an easy drive probably.

ND has some decent whitetails. Archery is otc rifle is a draw. There are decent numbers on public but a lot of them are on the private. If you hunt the edges you can do fine.