Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

.300 Win Mag

wannabemountainman

I’ve been hearing the .300 win mag is a tough gun to handle in terms in terms of recoil. Is this true? 30-06 doesn’t bother me at all, but I’m not sure how that compares. I’m a rookie when it comes to rifles so I’m just curious on the general thoughts.

it
I’ve been hearing the .300 win mag is a tough gun to handle in terms in terms of recoil. Is this true? 30-06 doesn’t bother me at all, but I’m not sure how that compares. I’m a rookie when it comes to rifles so I’m just curious on the general thoughts.

5-6 lbs more recoil than a 30-06....https://www.chuckhawks.com/recoil_table.htm

...wilm beat me to it.

Sometimes I'll take 3 rifles to the range and operate in diminishing recoil sequence. I played with a 6.5 and a 22-250 for a couple weeks tinkering the SIL's loads. The next time I brought magnums I was rocked for a few rounds....

Last edited:
I've had both in sporter weight rifles. The 30-06 is my favorite for sure. With it I've taken:
antelope
mule deer
elk
black bear
wolf
grizzly

I like the 30-06 'cause it kills everything real dead, and doesn't beat me up.

That said, I've owned a couple of different 300 Win mag rifles over the years, and it's quite a cartridge. In a well designed rifle, with a decent stock & recoil pad, the recoil isn't all that bad.

Oh, and the military uses the 300 Win mag as a sniper rifle too. Often. The 308, wonderful as it is, was lacking at longer ranges.

Regards, Guy

Glad I can handle recoil. So many cartridges would be out of reach. Keep the .06. Lots of good bullets and powders these days that bring the old girl up to speed, so to speak. mtmuley