25-06imp

brettlapp

Hey folks,

I'm BRAND new to reloading.. I just got a hand me down single stage press, with all the fixin's ....I'm looking at buying the die for my rifle, since I've only been able to find it on ONE website, and it's over 100$ with shipping..

Is there anyone that can recommend anything for this round? (25-06imp) I need to order bullets, powder, and primers still... and I'm looking for possible first test loads to start with.. I need to do a lot more research before I actually complete a bullet and fire it, but I was looking for some like minded individuals with some helpful insight to this particular round.

Thanks all!

If it helps, I'm in Eastern Montana if anyone wants to come show me the ropes! :D

Buy Hornady or Nosler reloading handbook and read the ‘how to reload’ at the beginning of the book. That will give you a jump start on the basics.

Redding 80422 FL 2-die set .25-06 40 degree improved is available at Grafs and Midsouth for 89+ship.

ABC's of Reloading is an outstanding reference as well.

There are a bunch of great Youtube channels to get into. Here's the guy that got me started:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lDL9tUnfVQ&list=PLTTrjvDib94l4NNyug0efjXsXokBksmRa

You'll definitely need a book from somewhere as well. The Hornady (and probably all the others) book will give you a bit of a rundown at the beginning which may help. Having a buddy that can take you under their wing would also help a lot.

If you are forming from 25-06 brass, you can use the 25 cal neck sizing die as well, rather than a FL sizing die. I like the Hornady New Dimension NS dies, personally. I have a 7mm Mauser Ackley Improved and I use the NS die and seating die for the 7mm Mauser. No issues at all.