Yeti GOBOX Collection

Cross country ski recommendations?

Talk2elk

Hello everyone, I had a full knee replacement 2 yrs ago and was thinking of adding cross country skiing to my workout plan to get me outdoors during the winter. I have down hill skied for more than 40 years but I have never tried cross country. Any recommendations on equipment, I would mostly be skiing groomed trails here in SW Montana with an occasional off trail excursion once I gotten the hang of it. Thanks, Mike.

I would stick with a classic style ski, and probably at one of the backcountry models (they will provide you a little more float in softer snow). Being a beginner I would probably look a the waxless models. There used to be more of an advantage to a kickwax ski, but the grip patterns on the new waxless are really good.

As for boots, I like the tallest boot I can get. I use these, they are nice and have alot of support. https://www.salomon.com/en-us/shop/product/pro-combi-prolink.html#1191=12044

Find a good shop and have them set you up. If they aren't having you step on skis in the shop, they don't know what they are doing. Not all skis flex the same, and having a ski that doesn't grip and glide properly makes the experience pretty miserable.

If you are mainly skiing groomed tracks (especially those that have the 'railroad' track on one side of the trail) - I would just go with "normal" cross country skis. The "BC" style that are popular do have metal edges, but much less camber to them and don't track as well on groomers.

The step in style bindings are nice (SNS, etc) rather than the 3 pins.

I don't know your budget on skis, but comfortable boots will keep you in the game longer. Especially if you are just out for fun.

The "No-wax" has come a long way - but since you have lots of downhill experience - you can go to waxed ski's. You'll get much better glide, but there can be some frustrations with snow temps for your kick wax when you are starting out.