Yeti GOBOX Collection

Upgrading Binos. Decisions to make

fattybinz

I started hunting in 2018 and loved it. To start out I bought a Vortex diamondback 10x50. They served me well during my mule deer buck, a mule deer doe, and cow elk hunts. As a beginner I thought I would have these binos forever but after a while I started to notice some shortcomings...bit large, blurry edges (had to move it constantly to glass using the clearest center portion) , not as clear as it could be. So now I'm looking to upgrade. There are two things I'm having a hard time deciding:

First, I'm considering going with either the Viper HDs or the Razor HDs. I know the common advice to get the best glass you can afford, but getting the vipers would mean some sacrifice, and saving for the Razors would take considerable work...but it would be doable. So I don't want to get the more expensive pair unless it comes with a meaningful improvement in quality.

Second, I'm undecided regarding whether to stick with the 10x or move up to 12x power. 90%+ of my glassing is off a tripod. Only use freehand to check in on an animal as I stalk...or to glass when there is snow everywhere and spotting animals is easier. I live in Utah and plan to hunt Colorado and Wyoming in the coming years...so I'm working with very open areas and longer distances. I do not have a spotting scope...as a beginner hunter that is mostly start out with antlerless hunts I'm not too interested in using a spotter to get a closer look. May get one in 3-5 years

I anticipate the advice to go to an outdoors store and ask to try each of these binos outside, preferably as it gets darker. I plan on doing that, but would appreciate any insights yall have. thanks

Buy once, cry once.

If you’re budget includes Vortex Razors there are a half dozen binos you could buy at that level that would perform better.

Buy once, cry once.