Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Gift for a friend

Jsjagger85

Hey ya’ll. Came to the forum as I figured it would be the best way to get first hand info and the best info. I am a novice hunter, mainly water fowl and upland. I’ve never done big game yet.
Anyway. I have a good friend that is a really big hunter. He makes several trips to Alaska or Canada every year. A real good guy. Well... I kind of want to hook him up with a surprise and send him on a real memorable hunt. I’m just needing help on how to go about it and do it right.
I’ve searched previous threads and have seen people posting about red stag in New Zealand or Dall sheep up north. I have looked into the stag hunting and it definitely is something to remember, especially at about 10k. (Just as a side note, it’s not ruled out).

Let’s pretend I wanted to send him to New Zealand. How do I go about it. He’s not one for fancy lodges and red carpet hunting- nor does he want his hand held for 50 step from the truck just to shoot something fenced in. He’s told me some pretry crazy stories from up north. I’m not familiar with guide hunting or how to select one. Obviously he’s going to need one, but I worry that i Line him up with a guide that maybe he doesn’t click with or a guide that just wants his money and for lack of a better term is a real deuche. He’s definitely not afraid to pack in a day or two and camp under the stars.
With all that said. I need a little help. Suggestions how to Do it. OR if you have suggestions on other big game hunts such as the Dall sheep etc. I’m open for it.

Does he enjoy elk hunting? A landowner voucher for a great elk unit like 16D in New Mexico would be real hard to beat.

Axis deer on the Island of Lanai, Dole Plantation. Awesome hunt. I've done it twice and would go back in a heartbeat. Toss in some deep sea fishing and you have a Sportsman's dream of a lifetime !

Can you be my friend?